SCHS is establishing a Mini-Grant program through the office of the Suffolk County Historian offering historical societies throughout the County an opportunity to apply for aid in defraying the costs of creating exhibitions. Requests for these grants will be reviewed 4 times a year. No award will be greater than $400.
SCHS is instituting a program to honor our County's Living Treasures. Individuals whose life and efforts have had a profound effect on the arts, sciences and education of the people of Suffolk County will be honored at a yearly event.
For full details and to register for any of the Suffolk County Historical Society's upcoming events, please call: (631) 727-2881.
Guest Curator: Dean Failey
The Manor house is furnished with original family pieces just as it was when the last owner moved out in 1963. Many of these historic items - furniture, costumes, decorative arts, photographs, documents, signage, even the wrought-iron entrance gates, among other pieces - are on exhibit at the Suffolk County Historical Society in Riverhead.
The site's history spans more than three centuries—from its original purchase from the Secatogue tribe by Stephanus Van Cortlandt in 1692 to the present day. Built in 1697, Sagtikos Manor served as headquarters for the British Army on Long Island for a time during the Revolutionary War, and President George Washington stayed here on April 21, 1790, during his tour of Long Island. The 700-acre estate was acquired by Jonathan Thompson of Setauket in 1758 for the sum of £1200 (British pounds). Mr. Thompson purchased the land for his son, Isaac, who in 1772 married Mary Gardiner from East Hampton. Jonathan deeded half of the land to Isaac upon the birth of Isaac and Mary's first son in 1773, and the remainder of the property to Isaac upon Jonathan's death. Judge Isaac Thompson was a prominent member of Islip Town government before and after the American Revolution. The last family member to live in the Manor was Robert David Lion Gardiner, who owned the property from 1935 to 1985. He deeded it to the Robert David Lion Gardiner Foundation. In 2002 Suffolk County purchased the remaining 10-acre property from the Foundation.
GINA GILMOUR ART EXHIBIT + GRAND OPENING OF NEW WEATHERVANE GALLERY & GIFT SHOP
Guest Curator: Jane Kirkwood
A transplant to the East End from Manhattan, Gina Gilmour first came to Long Island as an artist-in-residence with the William Steeple Davis Foundation in Orient. She fell in love with the North Fork and has transformed an old motel in Mattituck into her studio. The artist's paintings and sculptures are in many private and public collections, including the Bechtler Museum of Modern Art, the North Carolina Museum of Art, and the Newark Museum.
CHARIOTS & STONE PHOTOGRAPHY EXHIBIT, BY JOHN BERHALTER
Guest Curator: Loretta Corbisiero
Opening Reception: Saturday, Aug. 2, 6:00 PM
John Berhalter is a Long Island photographer whose work has been published in automobile collectors' books as well as in local art and entertainment publications. In Chariots & Stone, John turns the ordinary into the extraordinary, emphasizing the beauty of antique cars and historical buildings by drawing attention to their form and composition. The automobile is viewed not merely as a mode of transportation but also as an object of a collector's affection, and old or commonplace buildings are viewed as places of hidden artistry.
THE WHOLE TOOTH: ANTIQUE DENTAL TOOLS FROM THE COLLECTION OF DR. SHERMAN MILLS
AGELESS BEAUTY: ANTIQUE DOLLS EXHIBIT
Dates for Tea & Talk and Doll Appraisal Day to follow soon. Watch this space for details!
SCHS PHOTO OF THE WEEK SERIES!
NEWS AT SUFFOLK COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY:
For 128 years the mission of the Suffolk County Historical Society has been to collect, preserve, and interpret the ongoing history of Suffolk County, NY, and its people. To better accomplish these goals, SCHS is currently in the process of two major renovation projects.
The East Wing of the Society will be restored to its glorious past as an exhibition gallery. Converted to a storage area in the 1980s, this 30 x 24-foot space with 12-foot ceilings is undergoing a transformation. The reclaimed gallery space will allow SCHS to showcase rare and unique art and artifacts in a safe and secure climate-controlled environment. A formal dedication and naming of the gallery will take place in summer 2014.
The Weathervane Gift Shop will be relocated to the main floor. Renowned for its wonderful collection of Long Island history books and other items, the Gift Shop will reopen in summer 2014.
These projects have been made possible with gifts from the Gerry Foundation and Suffolk County.
Suffolk County Historical Society's Mobile Museum:
Suffolk County Historical Society's Mobile Museum began its educational outreach in March 2013. This 37 foot Winnebago a gift from the American Museum of Natural History has been transformed into an archeology museum bringing a museum experience to schools, libraries and community groups all over the county.
Mobile Museum Visits Nokomis Elementary School
Museum of Natural History Now Rolling Through Long Island
FROM SHORE TO SHORE: BOAT BUILDERS AND BOATYARDS OF LONG ISLAND EXHIBIT in collaboration with Long Island Traditions
Throughout the 19th and 20th centuries, Long Island was home to many boat builders, ranging from traditional builders such as Gil Smith of Patchogue, who constructed garveys and skiffs for local baymen, to the Scopinich & Maresca boatyards that outfitted coast guard vessels and commercial fishing boats. Numerous industries supported this economy, including Columbia Bronze of Freeport, which manufactured propellers, and Champion Sail of Freeport, which made custom sails for clipper ships. Join us for this celebration of the great tradition of boat building!
LONG ISLAND TRADITIONS SPEAKER PROGRAM
SCHS Members Free; Non-Members $5.